I went to Colorado, and I wish I had stayed.

I haven’t been updating this blog. My head has been swimming with thoughts of how to get a job, how to break into this wedding photography industry, and much much more. The job issue is like a heavy weight I am unable to lift. I just keep getting tossed from interview to interview with no one really biting. Oh, people like me, but it’s not enough it would seem. Things are still pending for one or two positions, and I keep plugging along sending application after application.
But what some people may know or may not see is the amount of people applying for a job. Career builders gives a nice indication of how popular a position is with a display of genertic male bathroom symbols. The more blue ones, the worse your chances I’d say. Unless you know you are 100% qualified, good luck. And trust me, I am not trying to be mean, several….no, many, have beaten me to a job, one was my dream job as a retoucher, I was so close I could taste it, and then, poof! It was snagged by some invisible force.
I sat in an office the other day waiting for my interview. Ten people sat with me and I could hear the receptionists making phone call after phone call to bring in more later that day or in the next few days. I watched people go back for interviews, leave, and new people come in. I felt sad at my chances, but I also felt I had others who were exactly like me, struggling to find a place… It’s upseting and it’s scary, but some day this economy will turn around and the amount of jobs will be plentiful. Till then, it’s a cattle call. If you make an impression, hope, that’s all I have. I have a second interview with this place tomorrow. Who knows if I will get it. It’s not my dream, but it’s a place to go, and maybe turn it into something with careful choosing of options. I also know at this point I can’t be picky. Well, kind of can’t be picky. I do show favoritism and I leave other jobs to others. But a girl needs her standards.
I have my very first wedding, shot alone, coming up in September. I am excited and hopeful. I dream that this will set me on the course to success in this industry. I also have a cool Trash the Dress coming up that I also wish will help me get a business going. I’ve also been making plans and asking friends for a bit of help. So maybe, just maybe, I am getting there, baby step by little baby step. If I keep a positive face on, it’ll be ok. I got to dream big to get there and have a plan. I am formulating. I just wish…
On a much lighter note. I figured I’d share some photos in my blog. I went to Colorado on August 15 and got back early Sunday Morning August 23rd around 2 am. It’s been a crazy couple of days since we’ve been back and it’s ashame I can’t say I am too happy to be home, but you know whenever you are traveling you just can’t wait to get where you need to go and off that plane. I got to hang out in Atlanta, Georgia’s airport until 11:30 pm Saturday and see the amount of travelers still waiting for planes at so late. I was surprised to find people showing up for flights out of Philadelphia at 2 AM. Who is going anywhere that early in the morning?!
Anyway.
Colorado was probably one of the most amazing trips I have ever taken. Now I am sure there are better and more educational, but this place was amazing. I loved the energy of always being active. Almost everyone I talked to said they are always outside either running up and down mountains, biking, walking their favorite companion, a dog, and just enjoying the natural beauty of their home. We stayed in Breckenridge courtesy of my boyfriend’s father and stepmother(who I shall forever be grateful to for inviting me to come) I loved the mountains and how strong and gorgeous they were. Although we were 11,000 ft high compared to my sea level New Jersey, I loved the fresh air, the unbelievably blue skies, and the lush pines. I loved every second of it. I wanted to absorb Colorado in my skin and live in those prominent mountains.
It was all about keeping clean and being eco-friendly there, something I rarely see in good old Tri-State area. Everyone says hello and how are you. All those endorphins pounding through their brains makes for some friendly folk. I really loved my stay and the sadness I felt leaving was more like a longing at feeling so at home.
I want to go back. We talked about making an entire vacation out of biking and hiking trails. There is soooo much to do there.
Before I bore you with more and more of my talk, since I know this entry has been long having not written in it since forever. I will post some pics.

Aspen

Aspen

View from hotel room, not too bad, eh?

View from hotel room, not too bad, eh?

Driving from Denver Airport, to Breck

Driving from Denver Airport, to Breck

Rodeo in Beaver Creek, CO

Rodeo in Beaver Creek, CO

Another beautiful mountain view

Another beautiful mountain view

There isn't a better life out there than a dog's

There isn't a better life out there than a dog's

Horse-back riding early in the morning, the best ever

Horse-back riding early in the morning, the best ever

About KatONeillPhoto

The fun-sized version of a photographer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

