Trash The Dress_South Street

I have not posted in the longessttttt time! I have been happily busy working two jobs and my time is consumed by them among other events. But let’s not get into that, I want to talk about a Trash the Dress I did this past Sunday. Even though it was a bit on the gloomy side, slightly chilly, and had a few bursts of rain showers, all in all it was a fun shoot.
Carmela was the model of the day. She is borrowed from Kamila Harris who shot Carmela’s wedding back on November 28th. Kamila came along as well, which was awesome because not only do I enjoy being Kamila’s assistant, I like her input and ideas, oh and her company isn’t bad either. 😉
We wandered down South Street in Philly where people congratulated Carmela as if it were still her wedding day or asked when she was getting married. People were unbelievably polite to the woman in white. Cars stopped in the middle of South Street allowing us to pass in front of them with an enthusiastic wave as if Carmela was a big celebrity. Carmela and I joked that she should wear her wedding dress more often to see what else she could get out of people; perhaps a free drink at a bar is in order? It definitely a great way to raise your self-esteem, walking around in your wedding dress again, people tell you how gorgeous you are and compliment your dress.  So despite the grayness there was a bit of sunshine with all the kind people roaming around us as I photographed  a glamorous Carmela posed against the industrial walls of Philly.
Now you have to picture this in your head: Carmela is probably over 5’8 and I am only 5’0. If I am forever blessed to work with models I will always look like such a mouse next to them, but I have no problems with that. Kamila took this fantastic photo of me demonstrating a pose to Carmela and I am high on my tippy toes trying to be tall enough to show Carmela exactly what I mean. Not like she couldn’t get it if I just normally posed myself….
Anyway…. a big thanks to Kamila for being so kind to let me borrow Carmela for the day. A giant thanks to Carmela for being my model and coming to Philly in her wedding dress to get dirty. Which, by the end of the day Carmela’s train was pretty dirty. But nothing a little dry clean can’t fix!

Now, here are some photos!




More to come later!

About KatONeillPhoto

The fun-sized version of a photographer
This entry was posted in Trash The Dress. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trash The Dress_South Street

  1. Carm says:

    Kat!
    These look great!
    You are very, very talented!!
    My husband LOVES the one of me at the gate!
    Thanks for indulging me with my Duke craziness!!
    Can’t wait to see the rest!

  2. Carm says:

    BTW…. I’m 5’11 🙂

  3. Carm says:

    Kat!!
    These look great! It was so much fun shooting with you! 🙂 Thanks for humoring me with the Duke hoodie shots! I had a really great time! Dave loves that picture of me with the gate.

    Thanks for making me feel like a rockstar!

    Carmela 🙂

    BTW– I’m 5’11! I am definitely amazon-like next to you there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

