Colorado Family Trip 2011

Almost two years ago the fiance and myself went to Colorado for a family trip with his fam. I had just graduated college and needed to get away from home to clear my head of all the “I’m out of college, now what?” thoughts. I was excited about the trip, but I wasn’t sure how it would go. Normally vacations with my side of the family were along the lines of going to Disney World, Williamsburg, the Jersey Shore, or once, London, but never did I head West in the US as a child. I was curious to see how it would be up high in the mountains.
Long story short, that 2009 Colorado trip was amazing and I was itching to get back there as soon as possible.
We got our wish for this 2011 Summer. So over a week ago the fiance and I headed out at too early in the morning to catch a plane and go up about 5,000 ft from sea level. Where we ended up is a little over 9,000 but the transition is always a bit tough at first. We believe in hydrating and advil to solve all elevation problems.
The week was spent chilling we the fam, horse back riding, hiking higher into the mountains, keeping the kids entertained, and cooking dinners. It was another great trip. I always feel blah when we return from vacations, especially  since I have a soft spot for Colorado.
The horse back riding was the second time at the same stables, and I found out that my horse from our first trip to the big CO was used in the movie Cowboys Vs. Aliens. Great job Hawaii!
We looked for a place known as “Sleepy Hollow” on one of our more casual days. It was my future sis in law and future(officially) nephew and niece. Sleepy Hollow is a house located in the mountains that was built by 3 guys looking for a place to sit back and enjoy the scenery. I can’t blame them, can you? The place is a one room cabin with floor to ceiling windows on one side facing the mountain, and placed in a center, hanging from the ceiling, is a giant swing.
Unfortunately after fiercely searching for the cabin, we were unsuccessful due to one wrong turn. But either way, we got pretty close and after getting lost about 600 times, it was still a great time for us.
My fiance’s step-mom treated us ladies to a wonderful massage that relieved so much tense in my back. And I mean, a lot of tension, I kept getting that awful sensation running down my spine that makes you tense up all over because it feels so ticklish but it’s not a good ticklish. But I walked out of there feeling positive. My massage therapist was amazing, so sweet. We talked about life and living in Colorado versus living on the East Coast where she is originally from. We agreed that the shore is amazing and sometimes being land locked blows, but Colorado is still beautiful and you still get mountains and forests. Can’t complain either way.
The fiance went with his father and brother in law to ride quads through the mountains, which left me feeling a little weird, because quads and mountains don’t mix in my mind. But they returned unharmed, thank goodness, and had a wonderful time.
Our last day was spent at the top of the world’s highest road way, Mt. Evans. We climbed over 14,000 ft. Looking down across the valleys and other mountain peaks made you sort of leery and kinda dizzy, but I felt like I was a few steps closer to the meaning of life standing on top of that mountain.
Beauty. Natural beauty. I can’t explain it in words, it is something a person has to experience, but it is breath taking up there at the top. There is a peacefulness up there that is hard to find down at sea level.
I woke up the following morning at 3 am with some serious altitude sickness, but we were traveling home, so after some gatorade and a bagel, I felt better, but not amazing.
We returned home, and back to reality. 😦

Garden in Vail, CO

Vail Farmer's Market

The Start of Day One, view from around our hotel

One of many loved dogs in CO

Garden in Vail, CO

Very Deep in thought about horses

Self portrait


A house in Breck is how much?!


On The Road to Sleepy Hollow

Captian showing us the way

We only found the old mine

The Sand Quary

 



Rock star





About KatONeillPhoto

The fun-sized version of a photographer
This entry was posted in Children and Families, Life and updates, Portraits, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

