The Dream

Last night I had a very intense photography related dream. I figured it was befitting of this blog since it is a “Photo Blog” and  any and all photographers out there can probably relate. It’s also pretty hilarious. And once again, it was only a dream, this isn’t based off any recent experience. I think it makes for a good post.
Ok, the dream starts out at some sort of fancy wedding venue; think high ceilings, burgundy carpet and candelabras all over the walls. I get there with my camera and my assistant photographer, someone I have never met in real life. My mind likes to make up characters and I swear it does a pretty good job of manifesting strangers. My assistant is older than me, but respectable. I am still my same age, not like my mind aged me to compensate for the older assistant.
I meet the bride’s parents. They are two very high class business people, but for some reason they give the vibe they aren’t happy about this marriage, I  might have noticed this because they were crying hysterically in my dream, but I don’t know if that’s a dead give away or not. But either way, so far, nice looking wedding.
I have no idea how I got the job or what the venue is based off of. It seemed unlike the places I’ve been in, but definitely had a big buck value feel to it.
That’s when I met the manager. A cruel looking older woman with a nasty eye for me.
I know it might seem funny that this whole thing came out of my head last night while in a deep sleep, but I’m not kidding, this dream was pretty real deal.
The manager instantly picked from the top of my list of photography related insecurities. She insulted me about my choice of camera, my looks, my age, and my height. (I’m almost 25 and 5′ tall, I don’t think I’m ugly? I just like to pick on myself) And because I like to hate on myself, I’m pretty sure this older woman was a manifestation of that part of my self destructive personality.
But she was not holding back. She kept saying how could such a wealthy family hire such an inexperienced photographer and who was I and who did I know. I felt very aware of my feelings in the dream. I was getting more and more nervous as this strange person snapped insults in my face.
That’s when a friend of mine from a long time ago showed up as the DJ. Totally out of character for him, but my mind made it seem like it fit in as if this were not a dream. He came to my defense, which was nice, but weird.
My assistant informed me that the bride was about to come. The bridesmaids walked by and all I can kind of remember is the color navy, which clashed ridiculously with their flowers. The flowers were of the purple and orange variety with deep green leaves. Interesting choice. Especially when I think the dresses were navy.
I ran to the door in anticipation of the bride and I got a good look at my camera. No wonder the manager was picking on my equipment so bad. This thing, whatever it was, was no camera of mine. It was flat like a jewelry box with a small lens and a giant back panel screen. It was an ugly gray color on top of its ugly design. I stared at it with no clue on how to use it. The bride was about to walk in and my camera was a piece of crap.
My assisant stepped in with her camera, which seemed normal from what I remember. She knew what to do and did it with ease. Here I was, the leader, stumped and emotionally destroyed by the words of someone who had just met me.
The bride walked in and that’s when I laughed.
Yep, I laughed.
Why?
Because she was 6 months pregnant.
She was still wearing white. It was a lacey, very 1920s dress. It fell around her hips in the loose fashion of a flapper dress, but hugged tightly to her belly.
If I knew why the bride was pregnant in my dream, I don’t want to, it added to the mess of a wedding I was dreaming about. At that moment this wedding dream took on a whole other form.
I was the photographer of a shotgun wedding at the nice venue with heartbroken parents and a nasty bully of a manager and an assistant that knew more than I did.
Best dream ever.
The last bits of the dream I remember were being in the Bridal Suite with the groom and the bride. The bride was hysterically about being pregnant and having to get married and how ridiculous the dress made her look. She was upset that her parents seemed to not care one bit and that they were actually disgusted by the whole thing.
I woke up. I can see the symbolism between the lines. It drives me crazy to be able to read my dream and know what it is saying to me. I just don’t know what to do. To become a more experienced, more popular photographer, I need the clientele. But where are you clientele of my dreams(I’ll even take this kind of scenario I just dreamt up!)?
In any case. I hope I made you laugh.

About KatONeillPhoto

The fun-sized version of a photographer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

